City of Newport, MN

Newport Public Library and Community Center

 

City of Newport
596 7th Avenue
Newport, MN 55055
Phone: (651) 459-5677
Fax: (651) 459-9883

Hours: Monday - Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

WASHINGTON COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM

 

As of January 1, 2012, the City of Newport is now providing the oversight and management of the Newport Library. As such, residents will now be reserving books and other items online at www.co.washington.mn.us/library. Once a resident's items are ready, they may pick them up and drop them off at the Newport Transit Station, 250 Red Rock Crossing.

Library Cards

Anyone who lives in or pays property taxes to Washington County is entitled to register for a free Washington County Library card.  To register, please provide a photo ID with proof of your current address.  Your Washington County Library card is good at most Minnesota public libraries.  If your card is lost or stolen, a replacement card may be obtained for a fee of $1.

Loan Periods

  • 3 weeks:  Books, magazines, audio tapes, spoken and music CD's, downloadable audio eBooks.
  • 1 week:  Fiction and Non-fiction videos and DVD's

The maximum number of items that may be checked out at one time or overdue on a library account is 100.  Only 5 fiction DVD's may be on a library account at one time. 

Returning Materials:

Library materials may be returned 24 hours a day via the dropbox at the Newport Transit Station.  Materials may also be returned to any public library in the 7 county Metro area. 

Renewing Materials:

Materials may be renewed on the library website at www.co.washington.mn.us/library , or by calling the Automated Renewal line at (651) 501-6049, or at the Library.  Most materials may be renewed twice; however, popular items with waiting lists cannot be renewed. 

Overdue Materials:

Library notifications of overdue materials is handled by e-mail, an automated phone call, or by regular mail.  Borrowers will receive a lost / replacement bill when an item is marked "LOST" by the Library's circulation system (generally at 6 weeks overdue for 3-week materials, and 3 weeks overdue for 1-week materials).

Charges:

  • Late Fees:  The Washington County Library system does not impose fines for overdue materials. 
  • Lost Items:  When a library item is considered "LOST", the borrower is responsible for the replacement charge, plus a $5 non-refundable processing fee per item.  Replacement charges are based on the actual replacement cost for a missing item.  This replacement charge and the $5 processing fee will appear on your record once the item is considered lost.  If the actual replacement cost is not known, a default price is assigned, using a standard replacement pricing schedule. 
  • If you have $10 or more in charges on your library account, you will not be able to check out additional library materials until the charges have been resolved.  If you find a library item after you have paid replacement charges for the item, a refund will be made if the item is returned within 90 days of payment, accompanied by the original receipt.  If you paid a $5 processing fee, it is not refundable.
  • After 90 days, unpaid charges of more than $50 are turned over to Washington County for debt collection.
  • Damaged Items:  If a library item is returned in a condition that renders it unusable, the full replacement charge applies.